July 22, 2009

McVities Fruit Shortcake

Another vegan biscuit from McVities. I’m not a big fan personally - too sweet and the currants get stuck in your teeth. But any port in a storm…

June 2, 2009

Walkers salt n vinegar now NOT VEGAN

Infuriatingly, Walkers have changed the ingredients of their salt and vinegar crisps and they now contain milk. Curse them.

May 18, 2009

Ritter Sport

Ah Ritter Sport, so glamorous, so sophisticated, so European. And yet essentially (and despite what their endearingly baroque website would have us think) just some chocolate. Very nice chocolate though, and Dark and Extra Fine Dark varieties are vegan.

May 11, 2009

Fry’s peppermint/chocolate cream

I don’t think I have ever seen anyone buying or eating one of these bizarrely enduring and deeply old-fashioned chocolate bars. Maybe their whole market these days consists of sweet-toothed vegans.

April 16, 2009

Starburst

I haven’t really kept up with developments in the world of sweets, but it has come to my attention that Opal Fruits have not only changed their name to Starburst, but have also diversified into a bewildering array of sub-varieties.

In an uncertain world, it nevertheless appears that Starburst ‘Original’ (UK) is/are vegan. If not exactly nutritious.

Lindt dark chocolate bunny

A fantastic seasonal discovery, the Lindt dark chocolate gold bunny is a bit sweeter and less intense than some dark chocolate. And fulfils the Easter requirement of being a) hollow and b) shaped like an animal (though many of course prefer the classic ‘unborn animal’ - or ‘egg’ - shape).

Whether you deem that food in the shape of animals is Not Vegan, or just a bit wrong, is up to you.

December 15, 2008
November 28, 2008

Crumpets

Nobody should have to survive the winter without crumpets, and fortunately we don’t have to. Of the many brands out there I know that Sunblest and Warburtons are vegan, and I imagine lots of others are too.

November 11, 2008

Co-op Bakery doughnuts

Although the Co-op Bakery line of fresh baked goods does not carry a full list of ingredients and is therefore not above suspicion, their jam doughnuts (five in a bag) DO clearly state ‘suitable for vegetarians and vegans’. It would take a stronger woman than I not to take them at their word. VEGAN DOUGHNUTS!

November 3, 2008

Peanut Snap

Variations on this snack are widely available - it’s basically some peanuts welded into the shape of a bar by the addition of large amounts of sugar and glucose syrup. Num.